Sujan Ghosh


Back to Gallery

Masai Mara National Reserve (also known as Masai Mara, Masai Mara and by the locals as The Mara) is a large game reserve in Narok County, Kenya, contiguous with the Serengeti National Park in Mara Region, Tanzania. It is named in honor of the Maasai people (the ancestral inhabitants of the area) and their description of the area when looked at from afar: "Mara," which is Maa (Masai language) for "spotted," an apt description for the circles of trees, scrub, savanna and cloud shadows that mark the area.

It is globally famous for its exceptional population of lions, leopards and cheetahs and the annual migration of zebra, Thomson's gazelle, and wildebeest to and from the Serengeti every year from July to October, known as the Great Migration.

The Masai Mara National Reserve is only a fraction of the Greater Mara Ecosystem.

Our team

Usambiro barbet (Trachyphonus usambiro) is a subspecies of bird in the African barbet family Lybiidae. It is a subspecies of D'Arnaud's barbet, along with Emin's barbet. It varies from the nominate in having a longer wing, shorter tail, darker bill. The Usambiro barbet was originally described as a subspecies of D'Arnaud's barbet in 1908 by Oscar Rudolph Neumann from a specimen collected in Usambiro in Tanzania. It is sometimes treated as a valid species in its own right.

The Great Migration

Our camp at Masai Mara

Late afternoon at Masai Mara (Composite)

The Black-backed jackal (Canis mesomelas) is a canid native to two areas of Africa, separated by roughly 900 km. One region includes the southernmost tip of the continent, including South Africa, Namibia, Botswana, and Zimbabwe. The other area is along the eastern coastline, including Kenya, Somalia, Djibouti, Eritrea, and Ethiopia.

Lioness (Panthera leo)

Mara scape

Lioness (Panthera leo)

Mara scape

Mara scape

Lioness (Panthera leo)

The plains Zebra (Equus quagga, formerly Equus burchelli) is the most common, and has or had about six subspecies distributed across much of southern and eastern Africa.

The Blue Wildebeest (Connochaetes taurinus), also called the common wildebeest, white-bearded wildebeest, or brindled gnu, is a large antelope and one of the two species of wildebeests. It is placed in the genus Connochaetes and family Bovidae, and has a close taxonomic relationship with the black wildebeest.

Blue Wildebeest (Connochaetes taurinus)

The Southeast African Cheetah (Acinonyx jubatus jubatus) is the nominate cheetah subspecies native to East and Southern Africa. The Southern African cheetah lives mainly in the lowland areas and deserts of the Kalahari, the savannahs of Okavango Delta, and the grasslands of the Transvaal region in South Africa.